Xbox Developer_Direct January 2024: How to Watch and What to Expect
4 mins read

Xbox Developer_Direct January 2024: How to Watch and What to Expect



For the first time since January 2023, Xbox is bringing back its Developer_Direct show that promises to give fans a glimpse at such upcoming titles as MachineGames’ Indiana Jones, Obsidian’s Avowed, Oxide Games’ Ara: History Untold, and Ninja Theory’s Senua’s Saga: Hellblade II.

The Developer_Direct will kick off on January 18 and this watch guide will provide you with everything you need to know to watch the show, including start times, a list of places you can watch it with us, and what you can expect from the event.

Xbox Developer_Direct January 2024 Start Time

January 2024’s Xbox Developer_Direct will take place on Thursday, January 18 at 12pm PT/3pm ET/8pm GMT.

As if that wasn’t enough, ZeniMax Online Studios will be hosting The Elder Scrolls Online 2024 Global Reveal at 1pm PT/4pm ET/9pm GMT to “preview 2024’s biggest update” for the MMO.

After the show, be sure to stay tuned to IGN’s channels as a special episode of Podcast Unlocked will take place that will serve as a post-show to the Developer_Direct. We will break down all the big announcements and share our thoughts on what was shown!

Where to Watch the Xbox Developer_Direct January 2024

If you’re interested in watching the Xbox Developer_Direct, we’ll be hosting it here and across our many channels on platforms, including YouTube, Twitch, Twitter, Facebook, and more. Here’s the full list of places you can watch the show with us:

What to Expect From the Xbox Developer_Direct 2024

As previously mentioned, this upcoming Developer Direct will feature an in-depth look at upcoming Xbox games, including MachineGames’ Indiana Jones, Obsidian’s Avowed, Oxide Games’ Ara: History Untold, and Ninja Theory’s Senua’s Saga: Hellblade II. The show will be presented by the developers themselves, and it looks to give fans a glimpse into the creation of these exciting titles.

Xbox actually provided a pretty detailed description of what fans can expect from the show, and we’re including it below:

  • Indiana Jones game: MachineGames, the award-winning studio behind the recent Wolfenstein series, will reveal their upcoming Indiana Jones game, an action-adventure that puts players in the leather jacket of the legendary archaeologist. Developer_Direct will showcase more than 10 minutes of game and developer insights, including details about the game’s setting and story, how fans will actually play as Indy, additional details from his next globe-trotting adventure, and the premiere of the first gameplay trailer.
  • Avowed: The team at Obsidian will share the first deep dive into the gameplay experience fans can expect in Avowed, their upcoming fantasy action RPG, set in the fantastical, vibrant Living Lands. Learn more about how Obsidian’s expertise in building worlds with deep themes, dynamic gameplay, and thoughtful reactivity come to life in Avowed where players will have agency to make choices to shape every step of their adventure.
  • Ara: History Untold: Hear from the leads at Oxide Games – a studio founded by veterans of the strategy genre and the creators behind classic strategy titles including Civilization V – as they unveil exclusive new gameplay and share more details about the inspiration, key features, and road ahead for their upcoming historical grand strategy game.
  • Senua’s Saga: Hellblade II: Ninja Theory take us behind the scenes at their studio in Cambridge to give us some insight on how they are crafting Senua’s Saga: Hellblade II. The team will speak to the ambition and meticulous care involved in creating Senua’s journey of survival.

While these four games are being highlighted prior to the show, there’s always a chance Xbox has a surprise or two in store for us. In January 2023’s Developer_Direct, Tango Gameworks’ Hi-Fi Rush was announced and released that day with no prior warning.

What most surely won’t be there, however, is updates on games from Activision Blizzard as Xbox said “you can look forward to news from those teams later this year.”

As for The Elder Scrolls Online 2024 Global Reveal, this standalone presentation will “unveil the game’s next major Chapter, including the new zone, storyline, and other major features coming in the game’s biggest update this year.”

For more, check out what we expect from Xbox in 2024 and the news that fans think they’ve discovered the full name of MachineGames’ Indiana Jones game.

Adam Bankhurst is a news writer for IGN. You can follow him on Twitter @AdamBankhurst and on Twitch.





Source link